2024 F1D World Champs – Arrival & Practice days

Well… we made it! Team USA (and all our luggage} all made to to Romania and we had a shuttle bus waiting to take us all up to the hotel in Slanic,, about 1.5 hour drive north from the Bucharest airport. Everyone was a little weary from the days travel, so we ate dinner and promptly CRASHED!

Today was a practice day.. low key.. get acclimated to the mine, some basic trimming of airplanes on half motors. The whole team, Seniors & Juniors seemed to have a reasonably successful practice day. There were a few issues of things being warped from the change in humidity, but completely fixable.

Of course, like any contest, a lot of the day is also taken up with meeting up with old friends and “show and tell” of newest innovations. Not all the teams were in today, so we will have more of the same tomorrow I’m sure.. but we also have the Otto Hints warmup World Cup event to focus on. So today was a good day to just get settled in and some basic trimming ironed out

The bad news at this point is, we had NO INTERNET service in the mine today. I would like to hope that that may get resolved, but if it doesn’t, its going to kill our chances of live streaming the event. This may cause you, dear reader, no consternation.. but I spent a fair number of hours prepping and testing the whole live stream functionality so that my daily blog would be the “plus 1” and the main guest was the video. Looks like I may be on the hook for a little more in Sideline Reporter as opposed to color commentary. I will try to include some daily pictures if I have time to take them and the hotel internet is kind enough to let me upload them before I crash.

I forget how grueling these long days can be!

Coach Chuck Working with Elijah

Daniel Guo Winding up for a test flight

Elijah Rose winding

Guha Ekambaram getting his airplane assembled

Kang Lee intently watching as his plane is descending

Leave a comment